Sustainability

Sustainability

The Winter Group’s 125-year success story is thanks to the careful strategies of our founders and all their descendants. As an aware and responsible organisation, we manoeuvre within the triangle of environment, business and society to uphold and secure our good commercial framework over the longer term.  Because of this, it is understood that we must protect the environment and work sustainably with the natural resources we use. We steer our company on a watchful growth course, create attractive working conditions and foster our employees.

Ecological Sustainability – Protecting the Environment

At the Winter Group, we understand that we have an impact on the environment through our activities.  Upholding the relevant regulations and standards is, naturally, considered an obligation.  With an integrated environmental management and judicious measures, we can reduce the ecological ‘footprint’ of our products.  Thus, the complete Winter product palette fulfils the REACH conditions.

Above and beyond this framework, we have established an internal sustainability award to encourage all divisions to uphold the highest ecological standards.  Winter & Company is FSC®-certified and a member of the UN Global compact.  This year, Winter Creation will be ISO 14001-certified, according to the international standard of environmental management systems.  Murfloor, with both ‘Edehlholz’ and ‘Moduleo’, presents two very environmentally sustainable market brands .  Rivertex is also a member of the ‘Texyloop®’ European charter, that encourages and enables recycling of flexible composite material.  All our environmental certifications are renewed every year and our employees are regularly and thoroughly briefed on newest developments.

Social Sustainability – Support and Challenge Employees

One of the Winter Group’s most important goals is to be a progressive and fair employer.  A respectful approach, as well as high standards of employment, are very important pillars of this philosophy.  Addition and further education are encouraged and supported, as well as internal opportunities for further training and advancement, whenever possible. Flexible working hours and conditions with adaptable schedules and a selection of part-time positions support our employees in the design of their work-life balance.  Overall, we try to offer considerate and attractive work surroundings, which we continuously further improve and develop organisationally, with a careful eye on job security and long term health.

Economic Sustainability – Building Long-Term Values 

The Winter Group should remain independent, within family ownership and stay focussed on their core competences as dealers, consultants and solution providers.  The basis for a long-term oriented further development is the Group’s financial independence. Quantified, that implies an on-going high equity ratio of at least 70%, as well as an ROS margin of 5%.  We want to manage the required growth from within the firm, primarily by better coverage of existing markets and expanding into new geographic areas.  Second, we want to encourage our growth through innovation and a further expanded product line.

In all our enterprise goals, the Winter Group remains committed to: social responsibility for our workers, business partners and clients, ethical firm leadership, cultural and environmental responsibility and our local roots and global perspective. These are our obligations.

Nachhaltigkeit

Unser Verständnis eines nachhaltigen Unternehmens

Die 125-jährige Erfolgsgeschichte der Winter Gruppe verdanken wir dem umsichtigen Handeln der Gründer und aller Nachfolgegenerationen. Als verantwortungsbewusster Akteur bewegen wir uns im Dreieck Umwelt, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft so, dass wir unsere guten wirtschaftlichen Bedingungen langfristig sicherstellen. Es liegt deshalb in der Natur unseres Handelns, die Umwelt zu schützen und nachhaltig mit den natürlichen Ressourcen umzugehen. Wir halten unser Unternehmen auf einem umsichtigen Wachstumskurs, schaffen attraktive Arbeitsbedingungen und fördern unsere Mitarbeiter.

Ökologische Nachhaltigkeit - Umwelt schützen

In der Winter Gruppe sind wir uns darüber bewusst, dass wir mit unserer Geschäftstätigkeit die Umwelt beeinflussen. Die geltenden Vorschriften und Standards einzuhalten, ist für uns selbstverständlich. Mit einem integrierten Umwelt-Management und verschiedenen Massnahmen verkleinern wir den ökologischen Fussabdruck unserer Produkte. Folgend entspricht das gesamte Winter-Sortiment den REACH-Bestimmungen.

Darüber hinaus haben wir einen internen Nachhaltigkeitsaward ins Leben gerufen und streben in allen Unternehmen höchste ökologische Standards an. Die Winter & Company ist FSC®-zertifiziert und Mitglied des UN Global Compact. Winter Creation lässt sich dieses Jahr ISO 14001-zertifizieren, der internationale Standard von Umweltmanagementsystemen. Murfloor vertreibt mit Edelholz und Moduleo hinsichtlich Nachhaltigkeit zwei Vorzeigeprodukte auf dem Markt. Und Rivertex ist Mitglied des Texyloop® European Charter, um das Recyceln von flexiblen Verbundmaterialien zu fördern und umzusetzen. Alle unsere Umwelt-Zertifizierungen werden jährlich erneuert und unser Personal wird regelmäßig und gründlich entsprechend geschult.

Soziale Nachhaltigkeit - Mitarbeiter fordern und fördern

Die Winter Gruppe hat zum Ziel, für alle Mitarbeiter ein fortschrittlicher und fairer Arbeitgeber zu sein. Ein respektvoller Umgang sowie zeitgemässe Arbeitsbedingungen sind dabei wichtige Pfeiler. Aus- und Weiterbildungen werden gefördert und unterstützt sowie wenn immer möglich intern Chancen für berufliche Weiterentwicklungen aufgezeigt. Flexible Arbeitsbedingungen mit Gleitzeit und ein Angebot an Teilzeitarbeitsplätzen unterstützen die Mitarbeiter in der Gestaltung ihrer Work-Life-Balance. Insgesamt sind wir bestrebt, ein wertschätzendes Arbeitsumfeld anzubieten, dass organisatorisch kontinuierlich weiter entwickelt wird und dabei Aspekte wie Arbeitssicherheit und Erhaltung der Gesundheit berücksichtigt.

Ökonomische Nachhaltigkeit - Langfristig Werte schaffen

Die Winter Gruppe soll unabhängig, im Familienbesitz und fokussiert auf ihre Kernkompetenzen als Händler, Berater und Solution Provider bleiben. Grundlage für eine langfristig orientierte Weiterentwicklung ist die finanzielle Unabhängigkeit der Gruppe. In Zahlen bedeutet das eine weiterhin hohe Eigenkapitalquote von mindestens 70 Prozent sowie eine ROS-Marge von fünf Prozent. Das angestrebte Wachstum wollen wir organisch erzielen und erstens die bestehenden Märkte besser und weitere geografische Märkte neu erschliessen. Zweitens wollen wir das Wachstum mit Innovationen und einem erweiterten Sortiment abstützen.

Die Winter Gruppe fühlt sich in der Pflicht, bei allen unternehmerischen Zielen die soziale Verantwortung gegenüber Mitarbeiter, Geschäftspartnern und Kunden, die ethische Unternehmensführung, die kulturelle und ökologische Verantwortung sowie die lokale Verwurzelung und die globale Perspektive wahrzunehmen.